Jim Guittard’s Place

Never Leaving The Back Yard

Posted in Life by guittard on July 2, 2009

What is so great about familiar things? Doesn’t it just keep us in a stagnant state of being? There are those who sit in their back yard and gaze at the birds feeding. Some people live through the experiences of what others do. They are too afraid to leave their back yard or the painfully comfort surroundings they live in. Or they are too tied down to obligation. Obligations to American Idol, the latest gossip, etc. Whatever.

For me, I’ve got to get out of my back yard. I can’t stand it maybe. I feel as if my life is a waste if I stick with the familiar. What is the point really in sitting around and not having adventures? I don’t know. I make up my life as I go. It has always been like this. Am I a freak for wanting adventure or change? Is it a crime to be idealistic? Is it stupid to rise above the brainwashing skepticism of the World?

The world is what I make it. It’s about self-reliance, independence, and faith. Have we lost all this? Must we rely on Government or Obama to solve our problems?

Suggestion: Get out of your back yard. There’s a whole world out there.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelvin said, on July 2, 2009 at 2:18 am

    I really enjoyed reading this post. I remember in high school I had a teacher that would encourage us to live the city and explore the world and take advantage of all the opportunities that are given to us. I think that I should probably step out the comfort zone and take chances. Isn’t that what life is about? At least the chances that may fail but overall succeed and yet something can be learned from those experiences. Often times people do rely on the government to do something, but if we do not take that step and make a change or seek out what is right then we can solve problems together.


Leave a Reply

