Jim Guittard’s Place

WWJGD

Posted in Family by guittard on April 11, 2009

Transitions are hard especially at this day in age of “crisis”. There is so much noise to sift through. Alot of screamers, talking heads, know-it-alls with advice.

So the title of the post is in reference to “What Would Jim Guittard Do?” I actually saw these letters on two separate occasions on car license plates. The original idea was WWJD? – What would Jesus do?

I am working now but want to get into something more significant. For a few weeks, I have been going down to Waco. Waco? Yeah, been trying to get in line with my family roots. There’s a street down there named after my great grandfather.

guittard-avenue

Honestly, this family history is eating at me. Great grandfather was history professor and his son my grandfather was chief justice of court in Dallas for a long time and then there is me. It feels like a lot to live up to, at least to me but I chose the more random rambling sorta life of music and art and things. I am back in Texas and wanted to find out about the original Guittard in Texas and why he came here.

He came to east Texas from Ohio at age 19 and basically made it by himself. He attended Baylor University and eventually was head of History Department there for almost 50 years. I studied history in college. However, I never wanted to be a teacher. I recently taught English. Now I’m in transition and am wondering WWJGD. Not what my family would do. So I may go spend some time just where it all began in Waco.

Anybody have any suggestions:

Look here for related post:

Guittard Destiny And Shadows

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John said, on April 11, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    The bumper stickers were probably referring to John Galt from Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged.
    Though there are lots of possibilities.
    Personally, I like Jerry Garcia as an option.


Leave a Reply

