Jim Guittard’s Place

Serving Two Masters

Posted in Life by guittard on January 7, 2009

Okay, so I’ve been back in the States for over a month now.  It was as if I was skydiving back into this bombed out zone.  I’ve been bombarded with talk on “Bail Outs.”  It’s getting rather old and funny now.  Actually a man on the street asked me for money but he used the word “bail out.”  I think most Americans are obsessed with money and I have way back when chosen to not have money guide my life decisions.

I write this now without a job or that security blanket that everybody is obessed about.  You know the insurance package, the benefits, etc.  I think there is a lot more to life than benefits and insurance and pay raises and working up the ladder and new cars, and houses, and loans. 

And I am aware that once you have kids, and a wife that things change but I will keep my head to the grindstone as they say.  Money is not bigger than God.  I just spent 2 1/2 years over in a poor country called Bulgaria.  It’s a joke how materialistic America has become and I intend not to fall in this trap. 

I know what it is like to have money.  I lived the high life in California for three years before 9/11 tanked the stock market in 2001.  I thought like everybody else.   But when you lose it you begin to think something else is more important.  Back in an article I was in the Dallas Morning News I told the newspaper lady interviewing me that I wouldn’t settle.  I think a lot of people have settled for  a mediocre unfullfilling, meaningless life.  I have had a rough time of it with this decision but it’s not over.  As long as I breathe, I can live.  America needs this!!

Matthew 6:24 (New International Version)

 

 24“No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.

Leave a Reply

