Jim Guittard's Place

The Speedy Deletion of Jim Guittard

Posted in Change, Music, Society by guittard on October 23, 2008
The Speedy Deletion of Jim Guittard Screenshot

The Speedy Deletion of Jim Guittard Screenshot

I just found that there is a website where all the Speedy Deletion pages from Wikipedia are uploaded there. It’s a site called: http://deletionpedia.dbatley.com

My page was in this category.  The specific reason for my removal from existence is because user Toddst1 opined that the article claimed nothing “important or significant.”  I would, of course, tend to disagree and I am sure that many others would, too.  I am not claiming to contribute to society in a big huge way but at the very least worth mentioning.  Sometimes I need to pat myself on the back for sticking to my guns.  And believe me, this is an accurate summation of my creative pursuit.  I’m putting in my dues. 

I have done many things since April 2008 date of being banished from Wikipedia.  I have released 3 albums for free on Jamendo.

  • California Daze – 2002
  • The Notorious G.I.D.D. – 2005
  • Busted In Bulgaria – 2008

In addition, I released the debut album of the Ragas on Jamendo.  (The duo I was in in Los Angeles with Henry McGuinn.) 

In early October, I appeared on the Tangra Mega Rock Radio station for a live interview over my happenings here in Sofia, Bulgaria.  I am still here digging my way around, trying to rise up from the underground.  But I don’t know why some people get deleted on Wikipedia and some don’t. 

Here is the explanation why Toddst1 deleted the article at Wikipedia:

Jim Guittard (deleted 05 Apr 2008 at 00:09)
Jim Guittard has been deleted from Wikipedia. An archived version is shown below. Other versions of this page may be available.
Toddst1 deleted Jim Guittard because A7 (group): Group/band/club/company/etc; doesn’t indicate importance/significance.
This page was created 4 April 2008 and deleted 5 April 2008 (0 days).[show]

The page was edited most often during April 2008. (info). 

This page was deleted in a speedy deletion. The reason given was It is an article about a band, singer, musician, or musical ensemble that does not indicate the importance or significance of the subject. (CSD A7).
 The speedy deletion was contested.

Jim Guittard is an American singer-songwriter who has played in the Southern California duo the Ragas with the son of Roger McGuinn, the founder of the Byrds. The music of the Ragas is in the raga rock or psychedelic rock styles patterned after the Byrds.

In July 2005, Guittard told the Dallas Morning News that he hoped to head to Eastern Europe or Central Asia for the Peace Corps in the fall.

Jim followed his heart and he is currently a Peace Corps Volunteer in Bulgaria. In 2007, there was a country-wide Bulgarian Teacher Strike. He was written up in the Sofia Echo, the leading English language newspaper in Bulgaria for a song he composed on this issue.

He continues to write music while being overseas.

References
Teachers Tussle In Bulgaria. Petar Kostadinov. The Sofia Echo. September 24, 2007.
Introducing the Ragas. Jim Guittard. Alt.Music.Byrds. May 31, 2007.
As Generation X begins to hit 40, it’s finding its place in the world. Katherine Yung. The Dallas Morning News. July 8, 2005.

External Links
Jim Guittard on Myspace
The Ragas on Myspace
Psychedelic Central Online Magazine
Music Archive

Check out the link below.  This is my entry on the deletionpedia site.  Make a search for your favorite bands.  They’ve probably been deleted too.  Post your results as a comment to me.  I’m curious how many honest people have been deleted.

Even Roger McGuinn has had his run in with Wikipedia over pictures he has tried posting. 

Wikipedia deleted the photo I put on my page as a blatant copyright violation. Hey I own it and their removal of it is vandalism! 

and

Trying to put a photo on my Wikipedia page is extremely difficult! I put it up they delete it and say “You aren’t Roger McGuinn himself?”

Look here: 

 

Retrieved from http://deletionpedia.dbatley.com/w/index.php?title=Jim_Guittard_%28deleted_05_Apr_2008_at_00:09%29

Leave a comment