Jim Guittard’s Place

Bard Fest 2008

Posted in Music, Society by guittard on September 13, 2008

Last weekend I played at a festival in Lovech, Bulgaria.  There were over 40 guitarists who call themselves “Bards.”  It was a rather nice event.  I will admit that I was very nervous getting up to play because I hadn’t played  public in over two years.  I guess it was kinda similiar to Elvis’ 1968 Comeback but I didn’t have the nice leather outfit. 🙂

The whole Bard movement is especially needed in Bulgaria.  The whole Chalga thing will wither away I predict when people wake up to how stupid it is.  I mean Aziz, what’s so great about this guy?  Nothing at all. 

The Bards sing about meaningful and important stuff not just kickin’ it with your homies in da club.  So I hope that those in Bulgaria with take up the Bard cause.  The Revolution Is Now!  Are you tuned in or tuned out?

My girlfriend filmed me and so here I post me playing my song “Stachkata.”  I wrote the song back a year ago and it caused quite a stink with the powers that be:  namely the Peace Corps.  I almost got kicked out of it.  The song has survived.  For you non-Bulgarian readers, the song was written for the nation-wide teachers strike in Bulgaria that lasted two months.

Jim Guittard – Stachkata

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike Black said, on July 15, 2009 at 2:44 am

    I googled ‘Lovech Bard Fest’ and your blog was the number one result 🙂

    So you upset the ‘Feds’ with this song? Good work fella!!

    Speak soon

    Mike

  2. guittard said, on July 15, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Yeah, I guess I’m an agitator by birth. 🙂

    • Mike Black said, on July 15, 2009 at 8:58 am

      Have you heard anything about this year’s Lovech fest?
      Do you know who I need to talk to?

  3. Mike Black said, on July 15, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Just thought…..are you familiar with the Music of Fred Neil? If not get Googling!!


Leave a Reply

