Jim Guittard’s Place

The BJM Dallas Show

Posted in Good Music, Music, Neo-psychedelia, Psychedelic by guittard on May 10, 2008

Journal entry from August 13, 2005

I caught the BJM show here in Dallas on Saturday night. It was different but really glad Anton chose to play. The preceding shows in Palm Beach Florida and Orlando were cancelled. The Quarter After, the opener, was good as usual. I had seen them in L.A.

Before the show, when I spoke to Rob, he said Anton’s voice was not up to par so they were kinda nervous about the show. I was going to say hello to Anton but decided I didn’t want to bother him with talk cause I figured he would be in his zone about the show. Anton was sitting at the sound board before the show. I got a good picture of him at the board with his thumbs up. Glad it wasn’t the middle finger.

Anton – Before Dallas Show

Anton - Dallas, Texas - Trees

After the Quarter After played, there was Innaway led by Reid Black. They were a Pink Floydish band from Philadelphia. It was cool and mellow. After Innaway, the crowd was getting anxious. The whole place was packed. I was rather pleased for Anton. I couldn’t even walk around. It was shoulder to shoulder. I had seen BJM at the same place 2 years prior and it was a pretty good crowd but not like shoulder to shoulder.

As I stood in the audience, the BJM brought out all their gear and set up but I wondered where’s Anton? The band patiently waited on stage smoking cigarettes and tuning and retuning etc. I looked around and Anton was on the board again DJ’ing music, kinda trippy hip-hop beat type stuff. It sounded really cool. Anton had his head phones on creating a vibe. I wish I knew what he was playing. That went on for 30 minutes. The band was ready to go and Anton was jamming out with his head phones still on at the sound board. I thought it was great. After probably 6 or so songs, the lights went low and Anton emerged onto stage.

He got on the mic pretty quick, “Anton style.” He was real nice though and the audience I thought was pretty good. They didn’t heckle him too much. Anton laid down the law from the start.

Anton Laying Down the Law

Anton - Dallas, Texas - Trees

He said, “Texas had been real good to him and the band.” He didn’t want to cancel the show. He said that he couldn’t really sing that night. He said something like, “Look, I’m your guest; treat your guests right. If ya want to kill someone, go to Iraq. You be patient!” That was classic talk.

He explained that he would show us how they make up songs. He had his drummer start a hip hop beat and they all joined in. At one point he told his bassist to try not to lead for once or something like that. They jammed out this instrumental for probably 20 minutes.

I saw a couple of people walk out but I’m sure they had never seen the BJM before. Anton ends the instrumental song and says something like, “Well who in the audience can sing?”

Some guy with a cowboy hat on and sunglasses came up on stage to sing the first song “Sailor.” Anton made it clear that he would throw him out the door and never let him back in if he was a fuck up
or “pissed in the well.”

Anton and Cowboy

Anton With Cowboy-Hatted Fan

The songs they played were:
Unknown Jam
Sailor*
Nevertheless*
Whoever You Are#
Nailing Honey to the Bee#
Who?
This is Why You Love Me#
Jennifer*
Jennifer restart#
When Jokers Attack#
Unknown Jam

* – random fan(s) on vocals
# – Rob Campanella on vocals
? – Reid Black

As a girl came up to sing Jennifer, Anton said her name was Jennifer. She piped up it was “Jill.” There were a few false starts on that song. The girl was eventually told to get off and someone else came up. Rob stepped up to the mic to help out and did a good job. He did “This Is Why You Love Me.”

Rob C. Drops Some Rhymes

Rob C. Singing BJM vocals

Several times during the show Anton said something like you don’t know me just because of some movie. And at least “I don’t give up.” Wise words.

The BJM played from 12 midnight to a little after 2. It was great that Anton let some fans help out. We are in this all together, right? Screw all this attacking stuff.

Betcha those fans who sang up there will remember for ever. I’m not disappointed.

Rob Sells Revolution Products

Rob C. Selling Revolution Products

Anton with FanThe Quarter AfterAnton Laying the Law DownDominic and Rob of the QAReid Black of Innaway Helping Out the BJM

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wizard Boots said, on June 2, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Nice review. It was definitely one of the strangest BJM shows I’ve experienced.

    btw….that’s me, Wizard Boots in the cowboy hat singing on “Sailor”, and you’re right….I will remember that forever.

  2. dickeeb said, on February 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Just wanted to pass this along if you’re interested:
    http://thedrugsareworking.blogspot.com/2008/06/brian-jonestown-massacre-live-in-dallas.html
    My husband and I have been huge fans of bjm for 10 years. Anyway, after their tour last year, I found this site. Enjoy! 🙂

  3. dickeeb said, on February 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I guess i am a little late for my last post. hahaha I just found your other site and saw this info there. Hey, i just listened to your ‘BJM like song”…..i like it!

    • guittard said, on February 11, 2010 at 10:02 pm

      Thanks for listening to my BJM-Like Song. I’ve known the BJM for 10 years also. Anton is really a nice guy probably misunderstood. So back in 2001 or 2002 I wrote the BJM-Like song b/c they were such an influence on me and I was living in Los Angeles at the time and going to their shows at every chance and drinking a beer or 2 with Anton at various times before Dig!.

      I was already aware of the drugs are working blog. 🙂

  4. dickeeb said, on February 12, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I definitely agree about Anton. He’s an intelligent guy and hard-working too. You can tell that he always has a vision for what he wants to accomplish and makes every effort to make that happen. I’m so psyched about the new album and have been listening to the tunes for a couple of months now. I like to support my local cd shop so I’m anxiously waiting for the 23rd to arrive!:) Hey, my hubby was wondering if that’s you in a picture with Matt Hollywood celebrating Anton’s birthday? Thanks for all your responses. We’ll be keeping up with your music and blogs. Very nice stuff!

  5. dickeeb said, on February 12, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    doh! Once again, after I post it becomes clear that I was wrong. Hubby just let me know that it is you in the picture and it’s not on Anton’s birthday but outside the Granada. 🙂
    Cheers!

    • guittard said, on February 12, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      Correct! It was at the Granada just with Matt Hollywood. Not for Anton’s birthday. Thanks for looking into my music and blog. Of course go to the other site to keep up with my latest stuff: http://jimguittard.com I don’t post here anymore. 🙂

      The new BJM album is great! How ’bout the lego video??? Classic.


Leave a Reply

