Jim Guittard’s Place

Cool Rock & Roll in Pernik

Posted in Bulgaria, Music, Neo-psychedelia, Pernik, Psychedelic by guittard on November 19, 2006

Friday night I went to see this band play in a club/cafe in the center of Pernik.  I had been told about this place by a teacher at the school.

I went a couple of weeks ago but I missed the band but this night I saw them play.  I was impressed with the musicianship.  And the songs were all in English.  I knew most of the songs but maybe not all the names but here is a setlist of what I did know:

1.  Norwegian Wood – The Beatles

2.  And I Love Her – The Beatles

3.  Knocking On Heaven’s Door – Bob Dylan

4.  Proud Mary – Creedence Clearwater Revival

5.  Honkey Tonk Woman – The Rolling Stones

6.  Bad Moon Rising – Creedence Clearwater Revival

7.  Who’ll Stop the Rain? – Creedence Clearwater Revival

8.  Black Magic Woman – Santana

9.  The Midnight Special – Creedence Clearwater Revival

10. Learning To Fly – Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

11. American Woman – the Guess Who

12. Jumping Jack Flash – The Rolling Stones

13. As Tears Go By – The Rolling Stones

14. Cocaine – Eric Clapton

15. Stevie Ray Vaughn Song

16. Whole Lotta Love – Led Zeppelin

There were other recognizable songs that they did but I don’t know the names.  They played over two hours with breaks. The sounds pleased me very much.  The Bulgarians danced to the music and they dug it.  The guys said that when I come back that I must play.  I better get my stuff together.

I wrote this song about that night.

Be Real True

Be Real True

In a far off land
I saw some band
They played Rock & Roll
They had soul

I spoke with them
I said, “My name is Jim.”
They said, “You should play here.”
I said, “Well, I have some fear.”

It’s been so long
Since I sang a song
God help me along
To be real strong

What else can I do?
But be real true
and follow you
For a better clue

Words and Music by Jim Guittard 2007

It was cool to shoot the breeze about cool music.  I told them I would turn them onto the cool psychedelic scene in California that I know about: the Beachwood Sparks, the Brian Jonestown Massacre, the Tyde, the Quarter After etc.  The drummer said he just loved Psychedelic Music.  So it seems that I met some people with common interests.  “Pretty neat, pretty neat, pretty good, pretty good, all right.” 

Chao

Leave a Reply

